Project Description📖 < 1 min read
You can now mention another user in Google Docs within the document itself. Previously, this was only possible within a comment.
When another user is mentioned, you can hover over their name for information about them and suggested actions like adding that person to Contacts or reaching out via email. This is the same information you see today when hovering over a user’s name in other Google Workspace apps, such as Gmail or Calendar.
[Read more about this feature and other new features in the Google Workspace announcement]
Note that mentioning someone in a document will not send them a notification. Additionally, if you mention a user who does not have access to the doc, you’ll receive a prompt with sharing suggestions. You can share the document at that time or decline and use the regular Docs sharing function when the time is right.
- Admins: There is no admin control for this feature.
- End users: This feature is available for all Google Workspace end users. When typing in Docs, press “@” — this will trigger a dropdown menu where you can search for the user you want to mention.
- Available to all Google Workspace customers
Thanks for sharing and spreading the word!