Project Description📖 < 1 min read
Google is adding new capabilities to help protect users in the Advanced Protection Program (APP) who use the Chrome web browser from malware. Specifically, when Chrome detects a potentially suspicious file download, users will see a new prompt asking whether they want to send the file to Google Advanced Protection to check for malware.
If they choose to send it, Google Safe Browsing will scan it in real time and will warn the user if it determines the file is unsafe.
See Google’s Security Blog post for more information on the new malware protection and how it works.
The message users will see when a potentially suspicious file download is detected
- Admins: This feature will be ON by default for users in the Advanced Protection Program. Use the Help Center to learn more about how you can protect users in your organization with the APP, and enable user enrollment in the APP.
- End users: This feature will be ON by default for users in the Advanced Protection Program and who are signed into Chrome. If enabled by your admin, users can self-enroll in the APP by visiting g.co/advancedprotection.
- This feature is available now for all users in the Advanced Protection Program.
- Available to Essentials, Business Starter, Business Standard, Business Plus, Enterprise Essentials, Enterprise Standard, Enterprise Plus, Education, Enterprise for Education, and Nonprofits customers and users with personal accounts.
Thanks for sharing and spreading the word!